Club Colours Home Blue & White, Away Green & White

Dubarry Apache Football Club had evolved from the famous Dubarry shoemaking factory

based in Ballinasloe, east County Galway. The clubs formation came about when Dubarry

employee's Joe Kelly, Brendan Fahy and Martin Hickey began organising games for the

team. As there was a need to play official affiliated football in the town it was decided to

join the Galway League. The club's first home game was in the Connacht Junior Cup

against Salthill Devon in the Curragh pitch in Ballinasloe where they went on to play their

home games at for that season, despite being unsuccessful in that cup competition they

did finish as Runners Up in the League (Hibernian Cup) with Sean Riddell finishing top goal

scorer with 15 goals and Fred Coyne being named as Player Of The Year. 

Despite spending its first year (1977/78) playing in the Galway League they then played soccer 

in the Roscommon League in season 1978/79 where they went on to become one of the most

successful soccer clubs in Roscommon for the next ten years until they merged with Ballinasloe

the soccer club that had incidentally purchased the Curragh Grounds in 1986 and the two clubs

came together to mutually agree an amalgamation. Indeed many of the people still involved in

Ballinasloe Town AFC today where originally founders and players for Dubarry Apache.

Club Honours

Roscommon Knockout Cup 1978/79, 1983/84

Roscommon League Cup 1978/79, 1982/83

Roscommon Premier Division Cup 1984/85

Roscommon Division One Cup 1985/86

Finnegan Cup 1980/81, 1981/82, 1982/83, 1984/85, 1985/86, 1986/87

To read more about Dubarry Apache Football Club please see 'Dubarry Apache F.C. 10th Anniversary Booklet 1977-1987'